Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 31, 2023

Chairman Tom Cole Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing, Urban Development, and Related Agencies House Committee on Appropriations 2358-A Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 Ranking Member Mike Quigley Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing, Urban Development, and Related Agencies House Committee on Appropriations 1036 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Cole and Ranking Member Quigley:

Thank you for your commitment to improving our country's infrastructure and rebuilding aging transportation systems. We write to request full funding of the Consolidated Rail Infrastructure and Safety Improvements (CRISI) program in the fiscal year 2024 Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies (THUD) appropriations bill.

In 2015, Congress created the CRISI grant program to improve the safety, efficiency, and reliability of rail transportation systems and to protect all who work on, live near, and rely upon the rail network. Through public-private partnerships and cost-sharing agreements, CRISI recipients can invest in capital projects, systems to prevent derailments, grade crossing enhancements, and more.

Since the first awards in 2017, CRISI has generated \$1.5 billion in investments across 47 states.¹ This investment benefits communities large and small, urban and rural, by creating good-paying jobs and strengthening the supply chain. CRISI advances major maintenance projects that shore up first-mile and last-mile connections served by short line railroads, allowing goods to move more seamlessly to and from market. It enhances American competitiveness by reducing delays and costs to businesses and consumers. The program also helps mitigate congestion and remove bottlenecks, reducing the number of vehicles on the road while promoting the efficient use of transportation resources.

Please help realize the potential of this program by funding CRISI at the fully authorized level in the fiscal year 2024 THUD spending bill. Full funding of CRISI and rail safety programs will be a win for every one of our states and communities. We appreciate your leadership on transportation issues and look forward to working with you to ensure Congress delivers on the programs critical to those we represent.

Sincerely,

¹ The 47 states that have benefited from one of 208 CRISI awards include Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin.

Tim Burchett Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes

Member of Congress

Chell R

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Troy Carter Member of Congress

raitel m

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Glenn "GT" Thompson

Member of Congress

Juis ia R. Garcia Member of Congress

Koul

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Mobin Robin L. Kelly

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

André Carson

André Carson Member of Congress

ina Datate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

1 Hudom

Richard Hudson Member of Congress

Crawford

Member of Congress

7 Aul

Troy E. Nehls Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Frederica Wilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragan Nanette Diaz Barragan

Member of Congress

Vargos JuanVargas Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

anetta hmv I lember of Congress

Jesus G. "Chuy" García

Member of Congress

Oany d. Danies Danny K. Davis

Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

bare Lee

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

marc

Marcus J. Molinaro Member of Congress

old Hadler Jerrold Nadler

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson

Member of Congress

Dinica Emobar

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey

Member of Congress

1.m

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

e Court

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

le Jer

Mike Levin Member of Congress

sewell.

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Troy Balderson Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio

Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster inta

Member of Congress

Membe ²Congre

Garret Graves

Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch

Member of Congress

Dean Phillips Member of Congress

Pete Stauber

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress

Mary E. Miller

Mary E. Miller Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland

Member of Congress

11 barey AcGarvey Morgan Morgan

Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

Bill Faste

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Sara Jacob Member of Congress

Seth Magaziner Member of Congress

Avide J. Jan

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Ind N. Cullie

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

werlinde

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

ne Nancy Mace

Member of Congress

min mone

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Adam Smith

Member of Congress

sman nd Member of Congress

400

Al Green Member of Congress

rat Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

aron Bean

Member of Congress

Michael

Member of Congress

on Crow Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids

Member of Congress

H. Marton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer

Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick

Member of Congress

Rick Zaner

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski

Member of Congress

Hillary JScholten

Member of Congress

the kneede

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Carol D. Miller

Member of Congress

senkam Marie Glue Member of Congre

Bill Johnson Bill Johnson

Member of Congress

Tony Cardenes Tony Gardenes

Member of Congress

María Elvira Salazar Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

scat David Scott

Member of Congress

mber of Cong

John Joyce, M.D.

John Joyce, M.D. Member of Congress

tall alco

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Jackso

Member of Congress

Robert Garcia

Member of Congress

n he

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Changs. Lori Chavez-DeRemer

Member of Congress

Hrdrea Salinas er

Member of Congress

Colin Z. Allred Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa

Member of Congress

115 r

Mike Carey Member of Congress