

50 F Street, NW Suite 500 Washington, DC 20001 aslrra@aslrra.org www.aslrra.org

Contact: Amy Krouse akrouse@aslrra.org (Cell) 312-371-6947

ASLRRA Announces Record Number of Jake Safety Award Winners And a Record Number of Railroads Received Zero-Injury "with Distinction" Awards

WASHINGTON – July 10, 2023 – The American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) today announced a record number of member railroads (383) qualifying for a Jake Safety Award, and also a record number (350) noted "with Distinction" for zero reportable injuries in 2022. ASLRRA member railroads posting zero reportable injuries has increased by 130% to 350 from 152 railroads in 1999 when the "Jake with Distinction" award was first bestowed.

From these top safety performers, twenty member railroads will be further recognized as <u>President's Safety Award</u> winners for the lowest injury frequency rate in a variety of per personhour categories.

"The rail industry operates on a safety-first rule, and the Jake Awards are one measurement of the constant, daily focus the short line industry applies to operations in order to bring everyone home safely, every night," said Chuck Baker, President of ASLRRA. "In 2022, the short line industry average incident rate has dropped nearly 5% to a record low 2.01 reportable incidents per 200,000 person-hours worked. In other words, the bar is higher than ever to achieve a Jake Award, yet ASLRRA members are exceeding that bar at a record rate, including more members

than ever before with zero reportable incidents. Even with this best-ever performance, our industry will not rest – short lines continue to seek safety improvements with the help of the Short Line Safety Institute focused on safety culture, and with operating practices that drive improved safety performance and efficiency on our lines."

To be honored with a Jake Award, an ASLRRA member must perform better than the industry average reportable injury frequency rate for railroads other than Class Is, commuter railroads and Amtrak as evidenced by Railroad Injury and Illness Summary Forms submitted to the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) for each of the twelve months of 2022.

The following ASLRRA members are President's Award Winners, designated as a Jake Award recipient that posts the lowest reportable injury frequency rate per Federal Railroad Administration regulations as measured within the various person-hour categories. The President's Awards will be presented at the 2023 ASLRRA Regional Meetings held this fall.

## **Central Region Winners**

Watco Switching Services
Terminal Railroad Assoc. of St. Louis
Red River Valley & Western Railroad
Kyle Railroad Company
Rail Logix Ameriport

Lowest Frequency Rate: more than 500,000 person-hours
Lowest Frequency Rate: 250,000 – 500,000 person-hours
Lowest Frequency Rate: 150,000 – 250,000 person-hours
Lowest Frequency Rate: 50,000 – 150,000 person-hours
Lowest Frequency Rate: less than 50,000 person-hours

## Eastern Region Winners

Consolidated Rail Corporation
Indiana Rail Road Company
Cleveland Works Railway Company
New England Central Railroad
South Buffalo Railway

Lowest Frequency Rate: more than 500,000 person-hours

Lowest Frequency Rate: 250,000 – 500,000 person-hours

Lowest Frequency Rate: 150,000 – 250,000 person-hours

Lowest Frequency Rate: 50,000 – 150,000 person-hours

Lowest Frequency Rate: less than 50,000 person-hours

## Pacific Region Winners

Montana Rail Link

Pacific Harbor Line

Lowest Frequency Rate: more than 500,000 person-hours

Lowest Frequency Rate: 250,000 – 500,000 person-hours

Lowest Frequency Rate: 150,000 – 250,000 person-hours

Lowest Frequency Rate: 50,000 – 150,000 person-hours

Lowest Frequency Rate: 50,000 – 150,000 person-hours

Lowest Frequency Rate: less than 50,000 person-hours

## **Southern Region Winners**

Conrad Yelvington Distributors

Lowest Frequency Rate: more than 500,000 person-hours

Lowest Frequency Rate: 250,000 – 500,000 person-hours

Lowest Frequency Rate: 150,000 – 250,000 person-hours

Lowest Frequency Rate: 150,000 – 250,000 person-hours

Lowest Frequency Rate: 50,000 – 150,000 person-hours

Lowest Frequency Rate: Less than 50,000 person-hours

The Jake Awards are named for the late Lowell S. "Jake" Jacobson, the President and General Manager of the Copper Basin Railway. After achieving a perfect safety record for the CBRY in 1993, Jake realized that there was no award that recognized smaller railroads' safety records. In 1999, the ASLRRA Safety Committee adopted the Jake Awards, and since then, has continued Mr. Jacobson's legacy of rewarding and drawing attention to the high safety standards of the small railroad industry. For more information on Jake's legacy, click <a href="here">here</a>.

Since its inception in 1995, the Jake Award program has distributed nearly 7,000 Jake and Jake with Distinction Awards to America's small railroad community.

ASLRRA would like to recognize the following members for their generous sponsorship support of the Jake Awards: Titanium Sponsors Genesee & Wyoming Railroad Services, Inc. and Rio Grande Pacific, and Iron Sponsors Indiana Harbor Belt and OmniTrax.

**About ASLRRA** - The American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) is a non-profit trade association representing the interests of the nation's 603 short line and regional railroads and railroad supply company members in legislative and regulatory matters. Short lines operate 47,500 miles of track in 49 states, or approximately 29% of the national railroad network, touching in origination or termination one out of every five cars moving on the national railroad system, serving customers who otherwise would be cut off from the national railroad network.