Safety is critically important to the short line and regional railroad industry and we wish to congratulate our “Jake” and “Jake with Distinction” Safety Awards winners!  In an effort to recognize and bring greater visibility to our safest railroads, ASLRRA’s "Jake" Safety Awards are now being presented regionally at the fall meetings.

Jake Awards

This year, 330 ASLRRA member railroads received a Jake Award recognizing safety performance above the industry average during 2017.  To be honored with a Jake Award an ASLRRA member railroad must  perform better than the Class II and III industry average injury frequency rate as reported by the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) during the prior year.  Of the 330 Jake Award recipients, 282 railroads received the "Jake with Distinction" designation recognizing their FRA-reported injury-free performance in 2017.

CONGRATULATIONS to our 2017 Jake Award Winners!

To see the winners from each region, please click the links below:

Central Region  
Eastern Region
Southern Region 
Pacific Region 

Thank you to our Safety Program Sponsors!

Titanium Sponsors


Steel Sponsors


Iron Sponsors