Safety Awards

ASLRRA values and recognizes safe practices across our industry. Members are recognized for their contributions and achievements. ASLRRA's Annual President's Awards and Jake Awards are determined by region, and award winners are recognized at the Fall Regional Meetings. The Safety Person of the Year and Safety Professional of the Year are recognized and awarded at ASLRRA's Annual Conference each spring.

If you are interested in sponsoring the Safety Awards, visit our sponsorship page for more information, or contact Crystal Gitchell at (202) 585-3442.

Nomination Awards

ASLRRA gives out two awards every year based on nomination criteria. These awards are as follows:

Safety Person of the Year

The Safety Person of the Year Award recognizes a non-management employee of a member railroad who works with management on effective safety programs, exhibits a high degree of safety awareness and contributes off-duty time to activities promoting safety awareness in the community.

Safety Professional of the Year

The Safety Professional of the Year is open to any railroad management employee of an ASLRRA member railroad who is responsible for safety programs, training and the overall management of safe behavior and actions on their railroad(s).


Performance-based Safety Awards

Reporting Requirements for Performance-based Safety Awards

To be eligible for both Jake and President's awards, ASLRRA member railroads must complete Form F 6180.55 (Railroad Injury and Illness Summary) for all twelve months of the applicable year as well as any required accident/incident reporting forms. Those incident forms are submitted with 6180.55 on a case-by-case basis depending on the nature of each incident.

More detailed information, including a guide covering all applicable forms can be found on the FRA Safety Data site.

To review 2023 Employee on Duty Safety Metrics for all eligible ASLRRA railroad members please click here. The group frequency rate of 2023 employee cases per 200,000 hours worked was 2.38.


President’s Awards

President’s Awards are presented regionally based on the previous year's safety data, according to the following criteria:

  • Awarded to the member railroad in the following categories with the lowest frequency rate, below the industry average:
    • Greater than 500,000 person-hours
    • 250,000-500,000 person-hours
    • 150,000-250,000 person-hours
    • 50,000-150,000 person-hours
    • Less than 50,000 person-hours
  • All railroads must turn in their F6180.55 form, the Railroad Injury and Illness and Summary Form, to the FRA to be considered for the President’s Awards. No other steps are necessary.

Congratulations to our President’s Award Winners – based on 2023 Safety Performance! The President's Award recipients are recognized at ASLRRA's Regional Meetings.


Jake Awards

The Jake Awards fall into two categories:

  • Jake Award with Distinction: Awarded to any member railroad with no FRA reportable injuries for the previous year
  • Jake Award: Awarded to any member railroad that finished the previous year with an FRA frequency rate less than or equal to the industry average, but had at least one FRA reportable injury
  • All railroads must have the F6180.55 Railroad Injury and Illness Summary form submitted to the FRA by February 28 to be considered for the Jake Award.

Congratulations to this year's ASLRRA Jake Award Winners - based on 2023 data.

To learn more about the Jake Award’s namesake and creator, Lowell S. “Jake” Jacobson, click here.